Connecting The Dots

Something my friend, Conrad, showed me recently and it’s been resonating with me ever since. Not exactly dance related but has been extremely inspiring in my dancing life.

Such a great speech for everyone to hear. But I think also incredible moving to many in my position. Recently I have been admitting more and more how much I love Lindy Hop and realizing that I really just cannot, literally CAN NOT, even in any alternative universe, imagine doing anything else with my life except for dancing. I know how silly I sound saying this. I have gotten the “Oh you’re just 19, you know nothing of real life” and the “You don’t know how hard it is to make it”. To me it’s not even a possibility that I can’t do this. I know I can, not even that, I know I must.

Maybe it’s the way I was raised, but I have always believed that if you work hard enough you will get what you want. The only problem is deciding what you want. This is always the hardest part. It has always bothered me when people I talk to at my college choose a career based on how much money they are going to make. It’s not about poor and happy vs. rich and miserable or if money can buy happiness. You are going to have to work impossibly hard either way. Why work hard at something you hate when you can work hard at something you love?

If you are lucky to find something you love early in life, why let other people tell you that it’s not going to happen? You know your own feeling, you know how hard you are willing to work for it, why let other people’s ideas get in the way of your true love? If you knew 100% that you wanted to spend the rest of your life with someone, would you let others influence your certainty? Would you be ashamed to admit that your love?

If you live most days like your last day, not with selfishness and no thought for the future, but with conviction in yourself. The point is not to live without having any regrets, but to be so assured in the choices that you make each day that you know you it could not have happened any other way. Therefore, no regrets.

You have to know yourself enough to be able to find what it is you want, you have to believe in yourself enough to be able to be happy with your decisions, and you have to be able to work hard enough to reach your goals.

So, here is your homework:

  1. Find what it is you love most.
  2. Proudly admit this to friends and family.
  3. Work really really really hard.
  4. Enjoy every second of it.
Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Connecting The Dots

  1. Sarah C says:

    I feel this! College is amazing, but I was often surrounded by people who placed more value on money than exploration, and who defined hard work as related to office jobs, and success as employer health insurance.

    I’m a Lindy Hopper and an artist and it took me one and a half degrees to realize I don’t have to relegate those activities as silly hobbies. I don’t need to be famous, I don’t need to be wealthy – I need to share these loves with my community and do them every day.

    1. Is easy.
    2. Is harder than most people realize, but is worth it. Your true friends and family will really hear you and get behind you.
    3. Is easy
    4. = True Success

    Good luck!

  2. You make some very good points for self-growth here, and I like Steve Jobs’ speech.

    One of the TOP things I encourage people to do is to know themselves better: their purpose, goals, values, passions, strengths and beliefs. Because I have seen how this self knowledge can improve our lives on so many levels.

    The thing I emphasize the most these days is asking yourself very powerful questions, which trigger big revelations about yourself and your life. It is an underused tool.

    Cheers,

    Eduard

Leave a Reply

