There’s a heaven right here on Earth…

"ULHS is dead! Long live ULHS!" – Jerry

ULHS October 8th – 12th, 2009

Damn. I’m pretty much speechless. Except for this long and obnoxious review below.

The Dancing

The dancing was alright. I think there was a bit of an imbalance in the lead : follow ratio so it was very hard to find some one to dance with unless A) they were your friend B) DSC_0066you attacked your victim as soon as the song was over. This was not so much fun for the followers but I’m sure the leaders had the time of their lives. I had some pretty good dances though, so I’m not complaining. I met an amazing tap dancer named Ronnie who just happened to be in NOLA that weekend.  Even though he did not know anything about Lindy Hop, he ended up buying a weekend pass! He’s amazing.

The Venues

The venues were all amazing. By far though, my favorite was the wax museum on the first night because the floor was awesome, the space was nice and intimate without being crowded, and they kept the museum open for us so you could walk around it when you were not dancing. Other venues were the WWII Museum, which was all right, the acoustics were not so great and it didn’t feel as intimate, the House of Blues, the floor was horribly dirty my shoes had like half a centimeter of dirt caked on the bottom, and I didn’t even wear them on the street! Firtzels was the late night venue which is a small jazz club on Bourbon St. It was very crowded even on the 2nd floor, so much that I didn’t really want to dance there at all and I usually look forward to late night because I get room to dance. One of the events took place outside in the french market where they put up an awesome floor where they had half the showdown contest. This was awesome until it started to rain. But I think that will be taken care of next year with some sort of canopy over the floor. Over all I really liked how all the venues were different each night. The organizers really kept the city of New Orleans in mind and even if you didn’t specifically go sight seeing you got to experience the city and the couture and history just by being at the scheduled events. This I’m guessing was a difficult task, and I say to the organizers job well done!

The Competitions

Were alright. Even though there were tons of people there, not a lot of "rockstars" showed up which to me was surprising. All I needed was some more of that Frida and Mikey sauce from ILHC. Yes please. But I have to say I’m extremely pleased with the results. I’m so glad the people that won, won. My favorites were the showdown final battle where Joanna and Chance won over Annie and Dax, Ramona winning the solo jazz, and of course Dax taking it all the way and showing people how dancing is supposed to be done in the solo blues.

Dang.

The Music

Holly crap, I cannot say enough about the music. It was mind-blowing, and amazing, and awesome, and fantastic, and glorious, and wonderful. It is amazing how these musicians can play anything, catch things in mid-sentence, and play with anybody and with any instruments. It blows my mind how talented and flexible they are. I can write a whole other post about it, and I might just have to do that.

DSC_0045 DSC_0103
 DSC_0087 DSC_0085

The City

Which was a major part of the event. And I have to say that if it   was held in any other city this event would have been terrible. But because the organizers really thought about how to show people the city just by going to the places they were supposed to be it really paid off big time. The DSC_0013city has so much culture and history you can feel it pulsing through you. You can’t help yourself but connect with the history of the music we love so much and our dance, which sprang of of this music. And don’t even get me started on the food…

BTW. If you want to see some more pictures click here and here (these are significantly better).

Future Plans

October 8th-11th, 2009 – ULHS
October 23rd-25th, 2009 – LA Blues (This weekend!)
October 30th-November 1st, 2009 – EBC 
November 5th-8th, 2009 – Pheonix Lindy Exchange (Perhaps if I volunteer…)
November 26th-29th, 2009 – US Open 
December 4th-6th, 2009 – Killer Diller Weekend
December 27th-23rd, 2009 – Lindy Focus (need to buy plane tickets!)
January 10th-17th, 2010 – Sea Swing Sensation Cruise! (With my mom!) I really wish I could go here though…

Just a reminder, If you’re reading this on facebook you’re missing half the fun! Click on ‘View Original Post’ below!

One thought on “There’s a heaven right here on Earth…

  1. the Jassdancer says:

    Great Interview…next year will be even more insane!

Leave a Reply

